News release from American Metal Markets

NEW YORK — Thirty-nine businesses engaged in 48 distinct arenas in and along the global steel supply chain have been named finalists in AMM’s fifth annual Awards for Steel Excellence.

“This year saw a record number of applicants and nominations for these prestigious awards, with entries from all sectors of the industry and many parts of the world. … Because of the size and caliber of this year’s nomination pool, identifying the finalists that reflect true innovation was a challenge,” David Brooks, senior vice president and editor in chief of AMM, said.

“Each year we receive scores of nominations from exceptional companies, and this year was no different,” he added. “We appreciate interest in the Awards for Steel Excellence by all organizations that submitted nominations.”

A panel of judges comprised of steel industry experts will select a winner in each of 14 categories. Winners will be announced at the annual Steel Awards Dinner on June 17 in New York at the Edison Ballroom. The event is held in conjunction with the global Steel Success Strategies XXIX conference presented by AMM and World Steel Dynamics Inc., Englewood Cliffs, N.J.

This year’s finalists and respective categories are:

Best Innovation, Product:Advanced Gauging Technologies LLC, Herr-Voss Stamco Inc., Leveltek International LLC, Material Sciences Corp. and MMFX Steel Corp. of America.

Best Innovation, Process: ArcelorMittal SA, AM/NS Calvert (a joint venture between ArcelorMittal and Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corp.), Steel Warehouse Co. (two projects) and Timken Co.

Best Merger and Acquisition: Marubeni-Itochu Tubulars America Inc., Reliance Steel & Aluminum Co. and Scrap Metal Services LLC.

Best Operational Improvement: Nucor Corp., Olympic Steel Inc., Severstal Columbus LLC and Timken.

Technology Provider of the Year: Borusan Mannesmann Pipe U.S. Inc., CareGo and Leveltek International LLC.

Financial Services Company of the Year: Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Crunch Risk LLC and Ernst & Young LLP.

Information Technology Company of the Year: Aptean, Crowe Horwath LLP and Schneider Electric SA.

Environmental Responsibility/Stewardship: AEP River Operations LLC, AK Steel Corp., David J. Joseph Co., Scrap Metal Services and Sims Metal Management Ltd.

Logistics Provider of the Year:AEP River Operations, MoveTran LLC and Port Hedland Port Authority.

Scrap Company of the Year (small/midsized): Columbus Scrap Material Co. Inc. and United Milwaukee Scrap LLC.

Scrap Company of the Year (large): David J. Joseph, Scrap Metal Services and Upstate Shredding LLC.

Service Center of the Year (small/midsized): Berlin Metals LLC, Klein Steel Service Inc., MidWest Materials Inc. and Parker Steel Co.

Service Center of the Year (large): Kloeckner Metals Corp., Mill Steel Co. and Steel Warehouse Co.

Steel Producer of the Year: Nucor and Severstal North America Inc.

Web Statistics